Followers

Friday, 7 May 2010

A couple of Straight Shootin' opinion based videos

Straight Shootin LJA @ Anti BNP Protest


The Straight Shootin' Newsbreak


Straight Shootin' LJA speaks on talkSport about Frankie Boyle jokes


ENJOY!!!

Straight Shootin' LJA

Movies, music & quality vs quantity (June 2008)

Now, it's something i've spoken about with a couple of people, and there may be those of you who like the series will probably watch the movie, but i had to just say that i am professionally (as a filmmaker myself) hate the fact that Sex in the city has been turned into a movie. In the same breath i also hate the fact that they have brought Gladiators back on Sky One, i loved it in the 90's, but come on, theres just somethings that should be left in the 90's, not brought back as a pale imitation just to make some fast money & mediocre ratings, but thats for another discussion. But still, my venom is aimed at sex in the city, a programme which generally, i have seen has a female dominated fan base, which is all good, i'm a hetrosexual male, i love women, they are tremendous (well, some are). My gripe is, (again, as a filmmaker) what in the blue hell qualifies this series to be made into a movie? The Simpsons, brilliant movie and had the track record over nearly 20 years before the film was made, the A-team, also a great show with years of having a great track record, but Sex in the city, which in my view is a group of slags and a gay guy (mario cantone i think his real name is) who think that bein promiscuous is good and gives them power over men when all they are doing is debasing themselves, lowering the value of sex and teaching impressionable girls & women who watch it that sex isn't special or valuable, its just a tool to gain power over the opposite sex. Now, to me, its bad enough to see what the show represents generally, and i got this message from watching just 1 episode and a couple of snippets during an editing project, but for me, this program being made into a movie illustrates and is a glowing indictment of what is wrong with Hollywood movies. Any thing and everything is made into a movie, from Sex in the city, to the pure fact that they've made 4 Scary movies, where the only difference is that each movie gets dumber & dumber. Another problem i have with the Hollywood movies is that they are so heavily supported over here (England UK) that British films don't get the recognition that they should. Also, there are many people who moan that British films are low budget and they look low budget and the 'special effects' aren't that aesthetically pleasing, but when the Hollywood movies are swallowing up so much of the money that goes into film & so many people in this country watch those films, then is it any wonder that British films have only the bare bones of a budget to put into movies? British movies (in my view) are generally, but not always, are of more quality in terms of storylines because they haven't got the budget to 'hypnotize & brainwash' the masses with glitz and special effects. Exactly the same can also be said for music as well as there are acts like Roots Manuva, Omar, Ear Dis, Spoonface, Aisling Stephenson, Maveriq, among others who are busting their arses day after day, week after week, month after month to produce quality music, but because these days, like with Hollywood movies, quantity is over-emphasized over quality, the real quality music & movies get overlooked and never get the recognition they truly deserve cos everyone is sucked into the hype, sucked into the flashy graphics and over-hyped artists with little or no talent who are flash in the pan, such as Soulja boy (here today, gone tommorow) and in my view, its a damn shame as there are a lot of people, who if given the chance, and a lot of movies whereby if they were given the support they need/deserve, then they would flourish and live long in the industry & the memory.

It's time people, that more folks started to recognise quality music, movies & videos and give their support to quality, not just the flavour of the month, because it should be about quality & longevity, not, what's hot this week/month, otherwise, we, the people, will destroy the industries we know and love such as music, & movies as there will be no quality, no music or videos that we can look back on and listen to in 20/30/40 years time and say, u kno what, thats quality, i'm gona cut up a rug and dance to this or, i just love the storyline there.

It should be quality over quantity folks,
I've been Straight Shootin' LJA & thats a dose of Straight Shootin' talk

Thanx 4 reading!!!
Liam/LJA
02 June 2008

The evidently retarded 'Naomi Campbell' & stupid people (June 2008)

Now, as you know, i do have nothing but contempt for stupid people, and i hate the fact that stupid people exist not only in large groups, but that they are also the ones who are or become celebrities, but Naomi Campbell just pissed me off with what i heard on the news today. Now, we all know that she was involved in an altercation on a plane a while back and did community service for that, we all know this idiot got community service again for striking her maid with a mobile phone, but this idiot, to top all of that, recently got 200 hours community service for getting into a fight with Police officers. Now, i think the fact that shes famous got her only community service and not a damn jail sentence, when jail is what this bitch deserves, but the thing that annoyed me most, was the sort of statements she said to the police officers. Now, the story goes that one of her bags got lost at the infamous Terminal 5 when the baggage backlog was at it's high point, ok, i can understand you being angry but there were thousands of other people in that situation, and it is a slap in the face when ur baggage comes home 2 weeks after you with a darker tan and twice as many air miles as you, but you can't just throw a hissy fit in an airport. Now, apparently when the officers restrained her (bear in mind its a woman having a hissy fit, which means any throwable or sharp objects, hide em) apparently she said the statement - your only doing this because im black, you wouldnt treat me like this if i was white (or something to that effect), now that statement pissed me off because i know there will be some people who will think, 'oooh, look at them darkies/blacks causing trouble again', and there will be some who think that about us, and Naomi, if you ever read this, thanks for being the type of idiot whos just set our race back another few years. I mean, its not bad enough that most of these shootings and stabbings in london tend to be by black men/boys and thats plastered all over the media, but you've got black women also degrading themselves with stupidness over and over again, it just makes things a bit more difficult than they need to be. Now, shes also giving models a bad name as well, although they have been dragged through the mud with Kate 'cokehead' Moss and Anna Nicole 'Sniff' (as i like 2 call her), but still, i was pissed off that this idiot Naomi Campbell playin the 'Race Card' in a situation that could have easily been avoided.

To bottom line this, Naomi, i hope you read this and realise you are an idiot, and its stupid people like yourself, who shouldn't be allowed to breed, some may think you look good, but good looks and no brains is like a Mercedez Benz with no wheels, its pointless, and as Carlos Mencia has said, 'With people its not like maths, negative plus negative, does not equal positive' so dumb person plus dumb person does not equal smart.

People, let's be smart and stop these thick as shit celebrities such as Naomi Campbell & Jade Goody (among others), and most people who go through shows like 'Britain's got Talent', cos from them shows (especially the early bits), we ain't got talent, we jus got people who should be sterolised and then shot just to be sure!!!


I've been Straight Shootin' LJA
And thats my opinion!!!


Liam/LJA
20 June 2008