Now, it's something i've spoken about with a couple of people, and there may be those of you who like the series will probably watch the movie, but i had to just say that i am professionally (as a filmmaker myself) hate the fact that Sex in the city has been turned into a movie. In the same breath i also hate the fact that they have brought Gladiators back on Sky One, i loved it in the 90's, but come on, theres just somethings that should be left in the 90's, not brought back as a pale imitation just to make some fast money & mediocre ratings, but thats for another discussion. But still, my venom is aimed at sex in the city, a programme which generally, i have seen has a female dominated fan base, which is all good, i'm a hetrosexual male, i love women, they are tremendous (well, some are). My gripe is, (again, as a filmmaker) what in the blue hell qualifies this series to be made into a movie? The Simpsons, brilliant movie and had the track record over nearly 20 years before the film was made, the A-team, also a great show with years of having a great track record, but Sex in the city, which in my view is a group of slags and a gay guy (mario cantone i think his real name is) who think that bein promiscuous is good and gives them power over men when all they are doing is debasing themselves, lowering the value of sex and teaching impressionable girls & women who watch it that sex isn't special or valuable, its just a tool to gain power over the opposite sex. Now, to me, its bad enough to see what the show represents generally, and i got this message from watching just 1 episode and a couple of snippets during an editing project, but for me, this program being made into a movie illustrates and is a glowing indictment of what is wrong with Hollywood movies. Any thing and everything is made into a movie, from Sex in the city, to the pure fact that they've made 4 Scary movies, where the only difference is that each movie gets dumber & dumber. Another problem i have with the Hollywood movies is that they are so heavily supported over here (England UK) that British films don't get the recognition that they should. Also, there are many people who moan that British films are low budget and they look low budget and the 'special effects' aren't that aesthetically pleasing, but when the Hollywood movies are swallowing up so much of the money that goes into film & so many people in this country watch those films, then is it any wonder that British films have only the bare bones of a budget to put into movies? British movies (in my view) are generally, but not always, are of more quality in terms of storylines because they haven't got the budget to 'hypnotize & brainwash' the masses with glitz and special effects. Exactly the same can also be said for music as well as there are acts like Roots Manuva, Omar, Ear Dis, Spoonface, Aisling Stephenson, Maveriq, among others who are busting their arses day after day, week after week, month after month to produce quality music, but because these days, like with Hollywood movies, quantity is over-emphasized over quality, the real quality music & movies get overlooked and never get the recognition they truly deserve cos everyone is sucked into the hype, sucked into the flashy graphics and over-hyped artists with little or no talent who are flash in the pan, such as Soulja boy (here today, gone tommorow) and in my view, its a damn shame as there are a lot of people, who if given the chance, and a lot of movies whereby if they were given the support they need/deserve, then they would flourish and live long in the industry & the memory.
It's time people, that more folks started to recognise quality music, movies & videos and give their support to quality, not just the flavour of the month, because it should be about quality & longevity, not, what's hot this week/month, otherwise, we, the people, will destroy the industries we know and love such as music, & movies as there will be no quality, no music or videos that we can look back on and listen to in 20/30/40 years time and say, u kno what, thats quality, i'm gona cut up a rug and dance to this or, i just love the storyline there.
It should be quality over quantity folks,
I've been Straight Shootin' LJA & thats a dose of Straight Shootin' talk
Thanx 4 reading!!!
Liam/LJA
02 June 2008
Followers
Blog Archive
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment